• GeoXD
  • GTS NX
    Overview Geometry Modeler Mesh Generator Solver System Post-Processing
  • Events
  • Resources
    Blog MIDAS Expert Network Technical Support
  • Get Started
    GeoXD GTS NX
  • Talk to us

Blog | Eurocode 7: Geotechnical Design - What is Eurocode?


Eurocode Webinar



What is Eurocode? 

Eurocode is a European standard for building structure design that presents standards for the design of bridges, buildings, pipelines, towers, tanks, etc.

It is basically used in 27 European Union countries, including Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland. However, other countries outside of Europe have also introduced Eurocode, which is Singapore. Previously, Singapore used the British Standard, but since April 2015, the use of the British Standard was abolished and changed to Eurocode.


Eurocode has a National Annex that enables localization according to the situation of each country. Therefore it is expected to improve the level of Singapore's construction industry as it is the most technically developed design standard that can be localized in Singapore. The world also is expecting to provide a new opportunity for Singapore's building industry as it will bring benefits for design-related expertise and trade.


<Eurocode world map >

Countries using EurocodeJoint Research Centre. [The EN Eurocodes]. Retrieved from https://eurocodes.jrc.ec.europa.eu/




Composition of Eurocode and Eurocode 7


Eurocode consists of 10 main types as below. 

EN 1990


Basis of structural design

EN 1991

Eurocode 1

Actions on structures

EN 1992

Eurocode 2

Design of concrete structures

EN 1993

Eurocode 3

Design of steel structures

EN 1994

Eurocode 4

Design of composite steel and concrete structures

EN 1995

Eurocode 5

Design of timber structures

EN 1996

Eurocode 6

Design of masonry structures

EN 1997

Eurocode 7

Geotechnical design

EN 1998

Eurocode 8

Design of structures for earthquake resistance

EN 1999

Eurocode 9

Design of aluminum structures



In particular, among other Eurocode criteria, Eurocode 7 (EN 1997) contains ground design, which is divided into two parts. Firstly, EN 1997-1 gives design guidance and actions for geotechnical design of buildings and civil engineering works and is concerned with the requirements for strength, stability, serviceability, and durability of structures. Part 2 of geotechnical design, which is called by EN 1997-2 contains ground investigation and testing.


Through this blog, we will be talking deeply about the Eurocode 7 (EN 1997-1), and which design approach (Partial factor) will be applying to FEM analysis except for pile and anchors.




Read More About Eurocode >> 

1- What is Eurocode?

2- Design Approach and Partial Factor3- Verification and Application to FEM Software




Topics Finite Element Method



Want Engineering tips
& Tech-trends in your inbox?