• GeoXD
  • GTS NX
    Overview Geometry Modeler Mesh Generator Solver System Post-Processing
  • Events
  • Blog
  • Get Started
    GeoXD GTS NX
  • Talk to us
MIDAS GEOTECH - Online Training Why Do You Need 3D Analysis:
Comparison with 2D analysis
29 October 2020 (Thu)
| 7AM (GMT), 8AM (London), 12:30PM (New Delhi) 2PM (Indonesia), 3PM (SG, KL, KK), 6PM (Sydney), 8PM (Wellington) | Duration: 60 Min
Opened
OVERVIEW

This webinar is aiming to discuss what benefits we could obtain from 3D analysis in the geotechnical projects.

When preparing for the design report, you may try to check the 2D analysis results instead of performing 3D FEM (Finite Element Method) analysis. Because you may think that it takes too much time for making 3D model for the analysis.

 

However, there are various typical 3D problems you are not able to check with 2D. For instance, if the shape of the excavation area is not square in your project, you will cut the section for conducting 2D analysis, but in this way, you cannot consider the corner effects of the retaining wall. When you need to check the impact assessment of the adjacent structures, only 3D checking enables to simulate the real behavior and to reduce the displacement of temporary structures.  

 

Herewith, we will share with you the key advantages of 3D analysis and the smartest way of 3D numerical modelling in this webinar. 


Here's what you can learn:

1-   How to input parameters for GTS NX

2-   Difference between 2D vs 3D FEM analysis

3-   Checking the results using GTS NX

4-   How to perform the analysis processing

CONTENTS

This webinar training materials describe how to perform the excavation works with the retaining system such as retaining wall, strut, and waler. The depth of excavation is around 9 meters, and two layers of support system (struts and waler). There are 4 layers of soil for ground condition and it includes the adjacent building and road as a surcharge. Both 2D and 3D analysis are performed and the forces and the movement of temporary structures and the settlement of ground are also checked in 2D and 3D models. 

INDEX
01 Site Condition

02 Modeling

03 Results

04 2D vs 3D Analysis

Read all
The event is done.
Thank you for your interest.
You are registered.

Thanks for registration.
The registration confirmation email has been sent to your email

You are registered.

Thanks for registration.
Please check the confirmation email from GoToWebinar for joining the session.

Benefits
  • 01 Free License of GeoXD

    It is available to all engineers who have applied for the online training course

  • 02 Free Trial of GTS NX

    A free trial of 15 days is provided (you can check it on the website). Downloaders will receive invitations to the future online webinars or case study series.

WEBINAR GUIDE
  • Step 1 Register

    Register for the webinar by clicking on the link in the email invite. You'll receive a confirmation email with a unique link to join the session. Click "Add to calendar" to ensure you don't miss the webinar.

  • Step 2 Join

    At the time of the webinar, click the join link in the confirmation email or your calendar invite. Alernatively enter the 9-digit code into the box above. You can join from any Mac or Windows computer to join with our iOS or Android mobile apps.

  • Step 3 Watch & Learn

    If you arrive before the organizer, you'll see a window confirming that you successfully connected. Once the organizer arrives the Webinar will begin.